Day 3… Bleh

… Or Meh

;
As far as meditation is concerned, it is always going to be a challenge with small children. Especially when the youngest is 2, and has a tendency to climb, like a very solid mountain goat, onto the highest summit he can find. Today, it was the sofa arm, and involved various breakages, thankfully not of his person. It is great fun, apparently, to take everything within your chubby little arm’s reach, whilst teetering on the edge of this precarious perch, and launch it as far as you can. Not everything survives.

It is also great fun, so it would seem, to tear the pages out of books. I am getting to be a dab hand at invisible mending with strips of sellotape. As I type, I am surrounded by a sea of debris left by my now peacefully slumbering curly-headed cherub. Who knew one small person could cause so much havoc? And he’s my fifth, so it’s quite impressive that he’s still managing to raise the bar!

So. Today has been a challenge. I suppose that attempting to meditate whilst Monsters Inc was thundering at me was perhaps pushing myself a little too far a little too fast. But I tried it, and I succeeded to a degree.

The problem is deeper today.

I am struggling to maintain the spiritual perspective. Frankly, I’m most likely struggling with victim consciousness. I have a very unpleasant experience to go through next week. I am not looking forward to it…

Then, a couple of synchronicities occurred to align themselves with the way I was thinking. My fabulous man posted this article here just before a dear friend posted these words from Deepak Chopra:

Whatever relationships you have attracted in your life at this moment, are precisely the ones you need in your life at this moment. There is a hidden meaning behind all events, and this hidden meaning is serving your own evolution.

So this was where my thoughts had been leading me, through this rather bleak wasteland that my mind had become today…

In order to maintain a spiritual perspective, you have to believe that everything happens for a reason. You have to understand that what you are going through is part of what your soul needs to learn. If it is difficult or unpleasant, what are you being asked to let go of? Usually, there is a requirement to release the illusion of control. Certainly there is the need to have faith that, with integrity and authenticity, the situation that arises will be just the one that you need in order to progress and to grow, whether that appears to be favourable or unfavourable in the moment.

It may seem to be taking it a little too far to suggest that we meet adversity with gratitude, but inevitably, when what hasn’t killed you has made you stronger, that is the outcome, isn’t it?

So, as another good friend advised today: Cook, Dance, Love! When things seem tricky, find the things that make you happy. And do them.

I’m off to find a hug.

Peace out đŸ˜‰

;

Your thoughts

