It is what it is…

It was five to one.

I sat at the kitchen table furiously typing, trying to finish an astrological report for a friend’s little girl.
And Bertie needed collecting in five minutes’ time…
And the baby woke up…
And I still had a fair bit to write…
And more work in the pipeline…
And I wanted to do it…
And the frustration built…
And my mood deteriorated…
And the world was about to end…

“Are you catastrophising?” he asked with a twinkle in his eye.

Grrrrrr.

“NO! But it’s five to one, and then Bert will be here and then the baby will need feeding and then we’ll need lunch and then the boys will be back from school and… and… and… and I’ll never get it done!” I heard myself wail…

…catastrophising

Because I wanted to do it.

But that is not my life. My life is not one thing or another. It is not work or my children. It is not children or my work. It is work and my children,  and I can only give my attention to the one that needs it at the time. Or rather, I can only give work my attention when I don’t have a child that needs it.

So what was the lesson in this morning’s struggle?

Breathe. Relax. Come back to it when you can. Don’t fight. Don’t struggle. Everything is as it should be.

And Lor! Could I do with remembering that more often. 😉

4 responses to “It is what it is…

Your thoughts

